Nursing in B.C

Understanding Nursing Designations:

There are four nursing designations within the province of B.C. These include:

  1. Registered Nurse (RN)
  2. Registered Psychiatric Nurse (RPN)
  3. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)
  4. Nurse Practitioner (NP)

Nurses in each designation have a different level of education and a unique skill set which defines their scope of practice (the procedures, actions, and processes that a healthcare practitioner is permitted to undertake in keeping with the terms of their professional license). However, nurses from all designations work collaboratively to provide high quality patient care, and are integral to the healthcare team.

Three Pillars of Nursing:

  1. Regulatory College – The College of Registered Nurses of B.C. (CRNBC) is responsible for regulating RNs and NPs in the public interest under the authority of the Health Professions Act. This is the organization that grants you registration in order to practice as a nurse in B.C.
  2. Association – The Association of Registered Nurses of B.C. (ARNBC), is the professional association, whose mandate is to act on behalf of nursing to advance the profession, and to provide a nursing voice to influence nursing, health and social policy.
  3. Union – The BC Nurses Union (BCNU) acts on behalf of nurses to secure salary, benefits and working conditions.

Jurisprudence Course: This is an online learning module that introduces the knowledge of law into the nursing profession in B.C. It is required through CRNBC for all RN registration. It is free and self-paced.

B.C. Heath Care System: This B.C focused site provides information around the specific details of B.C’s health care system with a focus on accessibility, health coverage, ways to manage your health, research, and resources for healthcare professionals.